Bulletproof Coffee; What gives!!??!!

download (2)Let me tell you what gives…Bulletproof Coffee is amazing and is an essential part of my day.  This cup of coffee leaves me feeling energized and alert ready to tackle anything that comes my way!!! 

Let me begin by explaining I’m a coffee nut and am completely addicted to getting my daily hit of caffeine every morning; it’s bad when you wake up and bypass dogs, kids and a husband to get that coffee rolling!!  It  wasn’t until I discovered Bulletproof Coffee that I truly understood the meaning of a good cup of coffee and actually felt true benefits, besides the usual spike of energy and nasty crash, jitters, and headaches that typically come from most caffeinated beverages.

As I have learned through the website, blog and other material from Dave Asprey the founder of The Bulletproof Executive and along with my own experience:

1524966_674431232607450_1568053535_n

Yummy!!!

Bulletproof coffee is the creamiest, most delicious, highest octane cup of coffee I have ever experienced. Talk about mental clarity and focus; this will rock your world and leave you feeling energized all day, not to mention the health benefits that come along with this single cup of coffee. You don’t get the caffeine crash that leaves you lethargic and needing more just to be able to function.  That becomes a vicious cycle; I know you guys and gals all understand what I’m talking about:)

So what exactly is Bulletproof Coffee??  Simply put, Bulletproof Coffee contains freshly ground coffee, grass-fed unsalted butter and MCT oil.  Yes, I said butter in your coffee; sounds kinda weird and unappealing at first, but you have to give it a try just once and you will be shocked at how creamy, frothy and amazing this will coffee taste.

Aside from tasting amazing, the combination of coffee, grass-fed butter and MCT oil promotes brain function, ends hunger by turning off cravings, and boosts your energy levels through the roof, not to mention the healthy fats can assist weight loss.

Benefits:

  • The healthy fats from grass-fed butter and MCT oil give you a stable current of energy that sustains you through the day.

  • The ultra low toxin Upgraded Coffee Beans optimize brain function and fat loss with high octane caffeine.

  • The MCT oil also serves to increase ketone production and boosts your metabolic rate.

bulletproofI’m a health nut and, for the most part, very particular with what I put in my body; as an athlete I want to fuel my body in order to achieve optimal performance. So I will tell you, since drinking Bulletproof Coffee, my energy has been through the roof and I actually feel more alert and focused. Maintaining optimal mental focus and energy is important to me , because I tend to burn both ends of the candle and have struggled with feeling exhausted throughout the day.  Lord knows I wish I had more hours in a given day, but we have to maximize the precious time we do have. 🙂

I have noticed a substantial difference in my workouts regarding my energy level and just overall feel like I have gas in the tank in order to crush my workout and remained mentally focused while doing so.  Working a full time job, coaching, building a business and training full time can be exhausting. There were often times when I would get in the gym and feel drained before I even start, but not anymore thanks to bulletproof coffee, I feel great!!!

It seems as though my body has found it’s Chi and I love it!!! Not to mention, ever since drinking Bulletproof Coffee, I have felt leaner and more settled and satisfied with my nutrition; I’m not constantly hungry or craving unhealthy things, mostly due to the healthy fats. I think for most of us our bodies are starving for healthy fats, we simply don’t get enough.

1622656_675490405834866_2092105255_n

Love this old fashion coffee grinder!!!

I encourage everyone to do their own research and give this coffee a try, you won’t be disappointed!! I recommend you get the Upgraded Coffee Beans, which are free of many mold toxins that are often found in the majority of coffee beans; these toxins actually take away from the antioxidant benefits of the coffee and leave you with headaches, feeling jittery and cranky.  Trust me, as a avid coffee drinker, there is a noticeable difference.  Also, ensure you get raw or grass-fed unsalted butter and not regular butter.

I recommend using a manual coffee grinder and French Press when grinding and brewing your coffee, but they are not necessary, I tend to take things to the extreme!! The French Press makes the best cup of coffee by far in my opinion and there nothing better then fresh ground coffee every morning.  Also, you will need a little blender to blend all ingredients together, to get that nice frothy, creamy, deliciousness!!!!

1521951_671232866260620_2048214722_n

The ingredients!!!

As we have learned from the Dave Asprey, founder of The Bulletproof Executive, 

Below is the the Recipe, along with ingredients and products I use and recommend from the BulletProof Coffee Website

  • Start with 1 cup (8 oz.) filtered water, just off the boil.

  • Measure 2 1/2 heaping tablespoons freshly ground Bulletproof Upgraded Coffee Beans (approximately 2 rounded tablespoons per 6 oz. water) and brew strong black coffee using your favorite coffee brewing method.

  • Pour in 1 teaspoon Bulletproof MCT Oil (build up to 1-2 tablespoons over several days).

  • Add 1 tablespoon grass-fed, unsalted butter, raw butter or ghee (build up to 2 tablespoons or much more over several days). I use raw butter.

  • Mix in a blender for at least 30 seconds until the drink is frothy and looks like a creamy latte without a film of oil on the surface.

Upgraded Coffee

*** Important side note *** Ease into the butter and MCT oil by starting with one tablespoon or less of each.  It will take your body a week or two to fully turn on its fat digestion system once you switch to a diet with abundant healthy fats, so give your body some time to adjust. If you full bore all at first it might upset your stomach.

You could also had yummy things like cinnamon, vanilla, or maybe some pumpkin spice; that’s my favorite!!!  Some folks add protein powder as well.  So give it a try and let me know what you think:) For those who have had Bulletproof Coffee please share your experience as well, would love to hear your opinions and feedback.

Below is a quick video on how to make Bulletproof Coffee:

Resources: WebsiteThe Bulletproof Executive

18 thoughts on “Bulletproof Coffee; What gives!!??!!

    • Hey Brian!!!

      I get my raw butter at the health food store, Paradise Health Food, and the MCT oil from the bulletproof coffee website:

      http://www.upgradedself.com/healthy-fats

      Medium-Chain Triglycerides (MCT) oils are a special class of fats that are digested and handled by the body in a different way than most fats. Most fats are long-chain triglycerides which are difficult to process, so the body prefers to store them in fat cells.

      MCT oils are absorbed in the bloodstream, passing the digestion process that longer chain fats go through. MCT oil provides quick energy for the body and therefore is less likely to be stored as body fat. MCTs are such an easy source of fuel, they are even more likely to be burned off than low-fat fare. When MCT is metabolized in the body, it behaves like a carbohydrate not a fat.

      MCTs are the primary type of fat found within coconut oil and depending on the type you get can be 6-12 times stronger then coconut oil. We as Athletes use MCTs for nutritional support during training, as well as for decreasing body fat and increasing lean muscle mass.

      Hope this helps, give it a whirl Brian, you will feel a huge difference in your energy levels and all around health!!!

      MIchelle:)

      Like

    • Hello Garage Gyms,

      I encourage you to do your own research on this matter, but I’ll give you my opinion. In terms of calories, I do not believe in calories in, calories out. I believe in the quality, nutritional value, of what you put into your body.

      Bulletproof coffee is dense in fats, but not just any old fats, good fats. The Medium Chain Triglycerides (MCT) are a special class of fats that are digested and handled by the body in a different way than most fats, such as dispersed as energy. Most fats are long-chain triglycerides which are difficult to process, so the body prefers to store them in fat cells.

      A little more info on why butter is good for you: http://www.bulletproofexec.com/butter-infographic/

      Our bodies are often starving for good fats, which are essential for body to build healthy cell membranes, synthesize hormones, and keep the immune system functioning properly.

      So to answer your question, I’m sure bulletproof coffee is very dense in calories. However, to give you some insight, ever since I have been drinking this coffee, I’m the leanest I have ever been and my performance in the gym has sky rocketed. I feel so much better!!! If anything I have lost body fat since introducing into my diet.

      Let me know if you give it a try!!

      Take care,

      Michelle

      Like

  1. Been doing it for about a week. Blending it (vs. just stirring vigorously) makes a HUGE difference in the taste / mouthfeel. Too soon to know if it’s doing much, although I didn’t run out of gas during either of my 14.1 WOD attempts. However, I can assure you of one thing – Bulletproof Coffe does not make your doubleunders unbroken. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Brian,

      Yes blending is a must and gives it that yummy frothy creamy taste. Which butter are you using? Great job on 14.1, so proud of you Brian 21st place!!!!! Heck yes!!!

      Like

  2. Pingback: My Experience on the Zone Diet | My Journey Rx

  3. How did you zone out your BP coffee? What did it come out to be? Was this the fat increase that I saw referenced in your paleo to zone article that you found to be helpful? Thanks for the response!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Erik,

      Personally for me the addition of my bulletproof coffee has helped in terms of getting enough heathy fats in my diet and My energy levels have remained consistent throughout the day.

      In terms of blocking out the bulletproof coffee for the Zone, I don’t. I don’t count it in my daily block prescription, which for me is 14 blocks.

      Since I have everything dialed in regarding my nutrition with the zone, It’s easy to tell what little changes work or don’t work. With my bulletproof coffee I just keep track of how much butter and MCT oil I use (Typically 1tbsp of both)

      I still times my fat blocks by three, but I don’t count my bulletproof in my daily blocks.

      I hope that helps, let me know if you have any other questions!! 🙂

      Take care,

      Michelle

      Like

  4. Pingback: My Perfect Cup of Coffee | My Journey Rx

  5. Hi Michelle – When you have the bulletproof coffee, do you eat breakfast? I follow Paleo and have been drinking bulletproof coffee for about 2 weeks and the mental clarity and energy I feel is priceless. But I noticed that if I don’t eat anything with the coffee I feel hungry and shaky a few hours later. I’ve also noticed a slight increase in my weight on the scale. If you have any tips, I’d greatly appreciate it:) ~ Heather

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Heather,

      I would love to help you with some tips that might be useful. I have my bulletproof coffee in the morning on an empty stomach, which keeps me satisfied for quite sometime( few hours). Then when I’m hungry I eat my first meal. You shouldn’t feel shaky if your using quality coffee, butter and MCT oil, if you are using a low grade coffee then that might account for the way your feeling, but without looking at your diet, it’s hard for me to give you a accurate answer. I truly recommend Bulletproof Upgraded Coffee Beans, leave you feeling amazing!!

      In regards to your weight that could be contributed to a bunch of factors and not just specifically the coffee. A few questions…..How much butter and MCT are you using? Do you find yourself eating more or less with the coffee, and are you working out in a manner that is conducive to building lean body mass i.e. CrossFit? These are some of the factors that will affect the scale.

      However, don’t get to caught up with what the scale says, that’s not an accurate depiction of results. Muscle is denser then fat, go by how your clothes fit, how you feel and measure your performance. Those are great indicators.

      Proud of you, keep at it:)

      Hope this helps and Let me know,

      MIchelle

      .

      Like

  6. I do not even understand how I ended up right here, however I assumed this post used to be good.

    I don’t know who you’re however definitely you’re going
    to a famous blogger in case you aren’t already. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been trying this out since last Thursday (today being Monday) and the last two days I’ve noticed I’m getting headaches an hour or two later. Why do you think that is the case? Also, ever since I’ve been doing it – come night time I’m actually exhausted and start getting really bad “tired” headaches. Would love some tips/thoughts.

    Like

Have feedback or questions?? Please feel free to comment, would love to hear from you :)